CS Time/TNA Documents

username password

Restoring a Backup

    This document only applies to the Topspeed versions of CS Time i.e. the modular version and the Unified edition.  For SQL installations the SQL restore function must be used.

    The CS Time Restore utility is a component that you can use to restore your data to a previous state if a problem occurs, without losing all your CS Time system data files. A restore allows you to revert the system data to be that of when the last backup was made.

    Please note: Restoring a backup will overwrite any existing data in the selected restore location.

     

    CONTENTS

    Restoring All Data

    If the CS Time data becomes corrupted, or gets lost, then you will need to restore the backed up data. Your CS Time backup filename must end with -1.bkp, e.g. CapeSoft -CS Time-2011-07-11-14-34-1.BKP, for CS Time to recognize it as a CS Time backup file.

    To restore the backed up data, proceed as follows:

    1. Open the Backup Module.
    2. Then select the Restore Data toolbar option or click on the Restore Data from Backup  RestoreIcon.png button on the toolbar and the Restoring Data window will be displayed.
       

    Restore Backup - 1.png
     

    1. Type in the path from where the data is to be restored or use the select button select the drive/path.
    2. If you wish to restore all the backed up data the Select which files to restore check box must be inactive (no tick mark displayed).
    3. Select the Next button to continue.
       

    Restore Backup  - 2.png
     

    1. When the next Restoring Data window is displayed, select the location to where the backed up data is to be restored to. The Original Location option will restore the data to the location where the backup was made from and the Other Location option enables you to select where the data is to be restored using the path select button and map the path to where the data is to be restored.  The Original Location option is to the location where the backup was made from and is the most common option. The Other Location option is normally used when restoring data to another machine.
    2. Click on the Start button. The back up data will now be restored.
    3. As the restore is performed, a progress window will be displayed showing which files are currently being restored and the percentage completed. Once the restore has completed, the Backup Completed confirmation window will be displayed. Select Ok to continue.

    Restoring Selected Data Files

    Restoring selected files requires that a log file exists in the folder that you are restoring to.  If you are restoring to a clean data folder or  to a new CS Time installation, you will not be able to use this option.

    To restore only particular data files, proceed as follows:

    1. Perform steps 1 to 4 as described in the Restoring All Data procedure above.
    2. To restore only selected data files the Select which files to restore check box must be active (a tick mark must be displayed).
    3. Select the Next button to continue.
    4. When the next Restoring Data window is displayed, select the location to where the backed up data is to be restored. The Original Location option will restore the data to the location where the backup was made from and the Other Location option enables you to select where the data is to be restored using the path select button and map the path to where the data is to be restored.
    5. Click on the Start button. The Select Files to Restore window will be displayed.
       

    Restore Backup  - 3.png
     

    1. Using the window buttons, tag the files to be restored (files to be restored have a green tick on the left side of the file name).
    2. Once the required files have been selected, click on the Continue button and the restore process will start.
    3. As the restore is performed, a progress window will display showing which files are currently being restored and the percentage completed. Once the restore has completed, the Backup Completed confirmation window will be displayed. Select Ok to continue.

    Moving CS Time Data to Another Machine

    If you need to move your CS Time Data from one computer to another, making a Backup on one computer and then Restoring the data onto another computer is one way of doing this. However it’s important to install CS Time on the destination computer first. This will create the necessary programs and registration entries that allow the program to find the system data correctly.

     

    Permalink:  http://tinyurl.com/6cktcttba

    Page last modified 14:30, 13 Mar 2014 by cay-lynne CS Time/TNA Documents > Backup Module > Restoring a Backup

    Comments0

    You must login to post a comment.
    Attach file

    Files4

    Powered by MindTouch Core